“Indeed, everything indicates that the “expressivist” tendency which leads people to display more and more elements of their personals identities on the web is not about to come to an end. It is thus necessary to understand the social, cultural, and psychological motivations of this phenomenon, since the exhibition of the self does not signify a renouncement of the control of one’s image. On the contrary, it bears witness to a desire, which could almost be called strategic, to influence others by showing and hiding certain traits of one’s identity. This paradox is at the heart of the debates surrounding privacy on the Web 2.0.” Identity as Relational Strategy by Dominique Cardon, Revue Hermès n°53, Traceability and Networks, 2009.

“When, with other researchers, we began to study digital cultures, we first celebrated the disappearance of borders and a certain form of freedom or serendipity. At that time the question of digital identity took a much different form. Today this notion is more concerned with the problems of managing identities over vast digital platforms. The management of user profiles is an example, as seen in the movement which insists on the need to avoid anonymity or pseudo-anonymity in order to impose a certain similarity or resemblance between so-called classic identity and digital identity. Thus, while the first studies of digital identity tended to emphasize the polyphonic and free aspect of identity, current debates concentrate on the dilemma of formatting and the traceability of identities, questions which weren’t so pressing a decade or so ago.” Identity in the Age of Digital Humanties, Milad Doueihi, interview with Jean Paul Fourmentraux, 7 July 2014 (p.34), in Digital Identities. Expression and Traceability, Les essentiels d’Hermès, CNRS édition.

Past workshops and events

  • Loudun, lycée Guy Chauvet (CAV) first, second, and third -year classes, social networks and digital identity, 54 students, 9 October 2015
  • Parthenay, lycée général Ernest Pérochon, four second-year classes, English class, selfie workshop, 104 students, October 2015
  • Poitiers, “Do not track” at the Planétarium of Poitiers in the context of the 5th citizens’ forum: Preparing citizens for the extension of digital culture. Maxime Quintard, Upian interactive production company and Hervé Jolly, professor at the European School of Visual Arts (EESI), Saturday 28 November, 26 participants.
  • Poitiers, social networks and writing workshop. Creation of a joint art project with the Or Normes collective (Poitiers). Project organized as part of the project “Social Networks and Digital Identity” initiated by the Lieu multiple with the support of the DRAC Poitou-Charentes, Friday 27 November, 8 participants.
  • Montmorillon, agricultural professional lycée, one third-year and one class of apprentices (CAF Bepa), selfie workshop, digital identity culture workshop, French and ESC classes, 22 + 21 students, 7 and 14 December 2015
  • Poitiers-Chasseneuil, LP2I innovative lycée, two first and second-year art classes, 42 students, 12 January 2016
  • Poitiers, University of Human Sciences,  masters program of Science of information and communication, on the mediation project, partnerships and the Lieu Multiple, 8 students, 15 January 2016
  • Venours, Rurart, center for contemporary art
  • La Rochelle, Municipal library, booktube workshops
  • Poitiers, Municipal library, booktube workshops
  • Poitiers, lycée de Kyoto
  • Monitoring digital identity and selfies among youth by Laure Boyer
  • Presentation (4hrs) by Patrick Tréguer
    . History of the web from its birth in 1993 (Tim Berners-Lee) and the stakes of the World Life Web
    . Tracking and cookies, a question of tracks and traceability
    . Tools for knowing who and what is tracking us
    . Digital identity: self-exteriorization and self-simulation
    .Selfies: a polemical but nonetheless creative subject
    . History of the selfie (from Van Eyck to Eminem, by way of the photo booth)
    . Booktubing and booktubers: online video at the service of books and reading

Mediation managers

Laure Boyer holds a PhD in contemporary art history and a masters degree in library, information, and communication science. She is a lycée librarian and mediator for literacy outreach. She works with youth on the fields of digital education and digital identity. In charge of mediation for the Unlike project, education and information for the media, Social Networks and Digital Identity – the Lieu multiple – Drac Poitou-Charentes, 2015-2016. Communications and community manager pour le Consortium (Poitiers) for the exhibition La carte du tendre by Alexandra Pouzet, September-December 2015 at the international level. Project manager for development educational kits for the Canopé network, department of research and development on the usage of digital education.
unlikeselfie.tumblr.com/
https://plate-form.org/

Patrick Tréguer Director of the Lieu Multiple, digital creation center of the Espace Mendès-France, since February 2000. Organizer of events and arts programming at this site. With the team at the Lieu Multiple, he regularly organizes concerts and performances in the Poitiers Planetarium, artist residencies within the center for scientific culture, and numerous creative sound workshops, as well a project for handicapped publics: “handicaps and digital creation”. He is also a composer and musician within the Lobe (an improvisational orchestra conducted by Claire Bergerault).
patricktreguerblog.wordpress.com/
patricktreguer.tumblr.com/
Lieu multiple

Other resources

  • Pedagogy by Laure Boyer
  • Videos and socials networks, Prezi by Patrick Treguer
  • The exhibition of the students’ #selfies is ready; 150 photos to see until February 26th, 2016 at Canopé Poitiers workshop. Layout and organized by Laure Boyer as part of the project “social network and digital identity” and in complementarity to Unlike.

SELFIE04

SELFIE_UNLIKE01 SELFIE_UNLIKE03 SELFIE_UNLIKE02

« Tout en effet, laisse à penser que la tendance  « expressiviste » qui conduit les personnes à afficher de plus en plus d’éléments de leur identité personnelle sur le Web n’est pas prêt de s’éteindre. Aussi est-il nécessaire de comprendre les ressorts sociaux, culturels et psychologiques de ce phénomène, car l’exposition de soi ne signifie pas un renoncement au contrôle de son image. Elle témoigne, au contraire, d’une volonté que l’on pourrait presque dire stratégique d’agir sur les autres en affichant et en masquant certains traits son identité. Ce paradoxe est au cœur des débats sur la Privacy dans le Web 2.0. » L’identité comme stratégie relationnelle par Dominique Cardon, Revue Hermès n°53, traçabilité et réseau, 2009.

« Lorsqu’avec d’autres chercheurs nous avons commencé à travailler sur les cultures numériques, nous avons d’abord célébré la disparition des frontières, une certaine forme de liberté, ou de sérendipité. À cette époque, la question d’identité numérique ne posait pas du tout de la même façon. Aujourd’hui, cette notion renvoie davantage aux problèmes de la gestion des identités au travers des grandes plates-formes numériques. La gestion des profils utilisateurs par exemple : on pensera au mouvement qui insiste sur la nécessité d’éviter l’anonymat ou le pseudo-anonymat afin d’imposer une certaine similarité ou ressemblance entre la soi-disant identité classique et l’identité numérique. Alors que les premières études sur l’identité numérique mettraient davantage l’accent sur la dimension polyphonique et libre de l’identité, aujourd’hui les débats se tournent vers le dilemme du formatage et de la traçabilité des identités, questions qui n’étaient pas aussi vives à l’époque, il y a une dizaine d’années. » L’identité à l’ère des digital humanities, Milad Doueihi, Entretien avec Jean Paul Fourmentraux, 7 juillet 2014 (p.34) dans Identités numériques. Expressions et traçabilité, Les essentiels d’Hermès, CNRS édition.

Ateliers et actions réalisés

  • Loudun, lycée Guy Chauvet (CAV) classes de seconde, première et terminale, réseaux sociaux et identité numérique, 54 élèves, 9 octobre 2015
  • Parthenay, lycée général Ernest Pérochon, quatre classes de seconde, cours d’anglais avec Sarah Kanele et Séverine Groussard, atelier selfie, 104 élèves, octobre 2015
  • Poitiers, « Do not track » au Planétarium de Poitiers dans le cadre du 5e forum citoyen : Armer les citoyens pour faire face à l’extension du numérique. Maxime Quintard, Upian société de production interactive et Hervé Jolly, enseignant à l’École européenne supérieure de l’image (EESI), samedi 28 novembre, 26 personnes
  • Poitiers, atelier écriture et réseaux sociaux. Atelier de réalisation d’un projet artistique partagé avec le collectif Or Normes (Poitiers). Projet organisé dans le cadre du projet « Réseaux sociaux et identité numérique » mis en œuvre par le Lieu multiple avec le soutien de la DRAC Poitou-Charentes, vendredi 27 novembre, 8 personnes
  • Montmorillon, lycée professionnel agricole, une classe de terminale et une classe d’apprentis Bepa du CAF, atelier selfie, identité numérique et culture numérique, cours d’ESC de Margo Duval et de français de Isabelle Bobiet, 22 + 21 élèves, 7 et 14 décembre 2015
  • Poitiers-Chasseneuil, lycée innovant LP2I, deux classes de seconde et première L en cours d’Arts plastiques de Martine Marcuzzi, 42 élèves, 12 janvier 2016
  • Poitiers, université des sciences humaines, cours de Master 2 EsDoc en Science de l’information et de communication, sur le projet de médiation, les partenariats et le Lieu Multiple, 8 étudiants, 15 janvier 2016
  • Ces ateliers donnent lieu à une exposition de selfies concernant plus de 300 élèves. Les œuvres réalisées seront exposées dans l’Art Cella – Espace d’art contemporain de l’Atelier Canopé de Poitiers 4, rue Saint-Catherine en parallèle à l’exposition « Unlike », du 2 au 26 février 2016
  • Venours, Rurart, centre d’art contemporain
  • La Rochelle, médiathèque, ateliers booktube
  • Poitiers, lycée de Kyoto
  • IDENTITENUM
    Présentation par Patrick Tréguer
    . Histoire du web de sa naisance en 1993 aux enjeux du World Life Web
    . Tracking et autres cookies, une question de traces et de tracabilité
    . Outils pour savoir qui et quoi nous piste
    . Identité numérique : extériorisation de soi et simulation de soi
    . Les selfies un sujet polémique, mais néanmoins créatif
    . Histoire du selfie (de Van eyck à Eminem, en passant par les Photomaton)
    . Booktubing et booktuber ; la vidéo en ligne au service du livre et de la lecture

Direction des ateliers

Laure Boyer est docteur en histoire de l’art contemporain / master en documentation et en science de l’information et de la communication / documentaliste en lycée/ médiatrice en information littératie. Elle travaille sur le numérique éducatif et l’identité numérique chez les jeunes. Veille documentaire sur l’information littératie. Chargée de la médiation sur le projet Unlike, éducation aux médias et à l’information, Réseaux sociaux et identité numérique – le Lieu multiple – Drac Poitou-Charentes, 2015-2016. Chargé de diffusion et community manager pour le Consortium (Poitiers) – exposition La carte du tendre d’Alexandra Pouzet, septembre-décembre 2015 au niveau international. Chargée de projet pour la réalisation de kits pédagogiques pour le Réseau Canopé, direction de la recherche et du développement sur les usages du numérique éducatif.
unlikeselfie.tumblr.com/

Autres Ressources

  • Présentation pédagogique de Laure Boyer
  • Vidéo et réseaux sociaux, Prezi de Patrick Treguer
  • L’exposition des ‪#‎selfies‬ des élèves est prête; 150 photos à voir jusqu’au 26 février atelier Canopé Poitiers. Mise en forme et organisée par Laure Boyer dans le cadre du projet “réseau sociaux et identité numérique” et en complémentarité à Unlike.

SELFIE04

SELFIE_UNLIKE01 SELFIE_UNLIKE03 SELFIE_UNLIKE02